top of page

5 Reasons Why you Need to Visit the Aran Islands

Before I traveled to Ireland for the Summer, I had never even heard of the Aran Islands. The Cliffs of Moher were always on my list and once I traveled to them I discovered the Aran Islands which were only a short commute away. (I would say they are like a less touristy, beachy version of The Cliffs of Moher).

The largest Island, with the most things to do is Inishmore. I knew the second I set foot on this island that my day trip there would be unforgettable. Here are 5 reasons why you need to go to the Aran Islands...now!

5. The Biking

It is very common to find people biking around the island. Inishmore is only 12 miles so it is very doable to cover the whole island by bike. You can rent a bike right when you get off the boat and there is pretty much only one main road that goes in a circle so there is no way you can get lost.

4. There's Beaches

If your lucky enough to find a sunny day in Ireland, make sure you check out the beaches throughout the Aran Islands, the water is a clear turquoise, but also very cold...yet, still worth it.

3. Goat Cheese

Of course I couldn't forget to try the goat cheese on this Island. Home made and from a rural area in an island off the coast of Ireland, how could it not be amazing.

2. Stone Forts

The island is famous for their stone forts which are everywhere. Lining the shoreline and dividing up the land, you cannot miss these ancient stone structures.

1. The Views

It is safe to say that nothing can beat these views. Equally as breathtaking as the Cliffs of Moher, just with less people and crowds. When it comes to sight seeings, the less people the better, in my opinion. You can visit these massive cliffs and still take time to appreciate it without mass amounts of tourists pushing and snapping pictures, and interrupting your time.

Stay Up-To-Date with New Posts

Search By Tags

No tags yet.
bottom of page