top of page

A Must Go Place: Phoenix Park


Moving to a city I was nervous when thinking about running, the thought of crossing streets every 10 seconds and avoiding cars made me reconsider running for the summer all together. I was introduced to Phoenix Park during my first week in Dublin. Knowing that the park was located in the middle of the city, I embarked on my first run with low expectations. What I found was beyond anything I had ever imagined about city parks. (side note: this was the first city park I have ever experienced)

Located in the middle of Dublin, Ireland, Phoenix Park is 1,752 acres of pure serenity. You truly forget you are in a major European city. The park was named 'The Royal Deer Park' in the 1600's and has since lived up to its name. A heard of deer calls Phoenix Park its home and it is common to run into the deer while exploring the park.

During my first run I saw roughly 40 deer living in their natural habitat. They were surprisingly very calm and friendly. I went right up to them and they didn't even flinch. After this outing I was hooked. I continued my timely visits to the park in search of deer, they were never hard to find. I even got a few selfies with them. This preserved area of Irish wilderness is one to top your list of things to do in Dublin.

(If you bring food they will come up to you and eat it!)

Stay Up-To-Date with New Posts

Search By Tags

No tags yet.
bottom of page