top of page

A Must Go Place: The Galata Tower, Istanbul, Turkey

I have always planned on going to every country in the world, even if I have never had any desire to go there. I’ve found many times that the most underestimated places always end up being the best ones. Sure I wanted to visit Turkey, but it was never at the top of my list. But this Summer I happened to make some close friends from Turkey who were traveling on a J-1 work visa. They didn’t have to ask me twice, the second I got the chance I was on a plane to Turkey ready to take on a new continent.

Istanbul really surprised me. It was beautiful, fun, and lively, it was exactly the opposite of what I was expecting. I went all over the city, both the Asian and European sides. One place stuck out to me; The Galata Tower. Whenever I visit a new place I always try to find some sort of high point where I can look out and see everything. It is always a great chance to take pictures and see monuments. When I saw the tower, I knew I had to check it out.

It looked old and deteriorating yet still beautiful, it made me question if it was a good idea to go up there but hey, everyone else was doing it. Inside the tower it is anything but old. Completely refinished, there is a gift shop, cafeteria, and nice restaurant inside. You can have dinner by the window and overlook the whole city, it is a 360 degree view. I would suggest sitting on the side overlooking the sea. You can go all the way to the top and outside to a deck that wraps around the tower. The views are breathtaking.

This tower is a place you need to see right away! Go up to the top and stay a while, have a drink and take some pictures, it is well worth the trip.

Stay Up-To-Date with New Posts

Search By Tags

No tags yet.
bottom of page